Demographic Facts and Social Indicators

Independence Date: May 15, 1811
Country name: Republic of Paraguay
Capital: Asunción


Area: 406,750 km 2
Geographical Location : Located in the heart of the South American continent, its bordered by Bolivia to the north and northeast; by Brazil to the east, and by Argentina to the south and west.
Climate: The climate in Paraguay can be distinguished in two seasons: a warm, rainy season with an average temperature of 31ºC to 38ºC, and predominant winds from the northwest that bring a lot of rain to the country; and a cold, dry season, with little rain, predominant winds from the south, and an average temperature that ranges from 0ºC to 14.5ºC.
Organization of its territory : The Paraguay River divides the territory of the country in two great natural regions: the Eastern Region and Western Region. Politically, the Paraguayan State is divided into a Capital District (the city of Asuncion ) and 17 departments.
Natural Resources: The country offers mainly water, hydro electrical, and forest resources, as well as, great agriculture and livestock raising opportunities. It also has reserves of natural gas and non-ferrous minerals.
Population Density : 14 hab/km 2
Languages that are spoken in the country: Spanish and Guarani are the official language.
Currency: Guarani (Gs)
Population: 6,534,378 inhabitants
Urban Population: 56.1%
Rural Population: 43.1%
Population Growth: 2.3%


Paraguay has a representative participatory and pluralistic democratic government, founded on the recognition of human dignity. From the age of 18 citizens have the right and obligation to exercise their power through public suffrage.

According to the National Constitution promulgated on June 20, 1992, the three branches of Government are the Executive, Legislative and Judicial. The Government exercises these powers through an independent system of balance, coordination and mutual control.

The Executive Power is exercised by the President of the Republic, who is elected by popular vote for a one term period of five years. He delegates the direction and management of public affairs along with his cabinet of ministers. Since August 15th, 2008, the President of the Republic of Paraguay is Mr. Fernando Lugo, who was elected on April 20th, 2008 as Head of State and Head of Government.

The Legislature is bicameral, the Senate is composed of 45 members and the House of Representatives consists of 80 members, elected by popular vote for a term of five years.

The highest organ of the judiciary is the Supreme Court composed of nine judges appointed on the proposal of the Council of the Magistracy.